Memorial Day 2009

Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery, Memorial Day, 2008 flickr photo by Hjelle

Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery, Memorial Day, 2008 flickr photo by Hjelle

I feel very fortunate, my church backs up to the Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery.  Every time I go to church, and believe me, I’m a frequent visitor, I’m reminded of the brave men and women who have fought and died so that I can go to my church, or write this blog.

This morning my wife and I along with one of our sons and his wife drive through the cemetery.  There was a line of traffic to get in.  I wonder where all these people are the other 364 days of the year, but still it’s gratifying to see that there are people who equate Memorial Day with something other than  a long weekend.

Yesterday local Boy Scouts carried out an annual tradition that was begun here in Saint Louis and has spread around the country.  The Scouts parade into the cemetery, take part in a ceremony around the big flag pole and then place flags on each of the 170,000 + graves.  It’s  something to see the entire cemetery sporting red, white, and blue in an operation that takes about five minutes.  More than 4,000 young men can do the job amazingly quickly.  Doing the math, it’s about 42 flags per kid.

As a business blogger there are a lot of lessons that I could draw from this; lessons about leadership, planning, motivation, etc.  But today I’m going to take off my business hat.  In fact, I”m going to place my hat over my heart and just say “thank you” to all the men and women  who have served, and who are currently serving in the Armed Forces of the United States of America.  May God bless you for your service.  If not for you, who knows where we would be?  There are a lot of issues with our government and our society that need to be fixed.  But even on our worst day the USA is still one country  in the world where illegal immigration is such a major problem.

People aren’t trying to sneak out, they’re trying to sneak in.  Keep that in mind on this Memorial Day.

2 Responses

  1. Great post. Thanks for the helpfull info one again. I have become a great fan of your blog. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

