No Wonder We’re in a Recession!

An interesting thing happened to me today.  I had a flat tire on my bike.  Fortunately it went flat while I was having lunch with my wife, so we threw the bike in the back of her SUV and she dropped me off at a local bike shop.  While the mechanic fixed the flat I wandered around the store for about fifteen minutes looking at the bikes.  No one said a word to me!

These guys sell bikes that run well into four figures, some almost five.  They had my bike.  I couldn’t leave.  They could see that I could use a new ride.  In fact, they sold me the one I have now.

For the life of me, I can’t understand a specialty retailer that doesn’t try to show you something, especially when they see you kicking the tires like I was.  No wonder we’re in a recession.

C’mon people! At a time like this you can’t let any potential sale get away.  At least do a quick demo with every warm body that comes into your store.  No one should ever leave without at least a brochure.  That’s just common sense.  But I guess common sense isn’t really that common.

2 Responses

  1. Mike,

    You think the least they would have done would be to try to sell you something to fix your next flat, or a new tire with a kevlar belt. I’ll lay odds too, that it was the rear tire (it almost always is!).

  2. Hey Randy, good to hear from you! It was the rear tire. 2nd one in a few weeks. I asked them about a new tire but they didn’t have one to match the front.

    I would have tried to sell me a pair of tires, but I guess they were too busy talking to one another.

    Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

