Gratuitous Self-Congratulations

Crossing the finish line at the Tour de Cure

Crossing the finish line at the Tour de Cure

I know it’s a business blog and this may hold no interest for you whatsoever, but it’s my blog and you might get some motivation from this, so here goes.

On Saturday my son, Tim and I took part in a 50 mile bicycle event called the Tour de Cure.  It was a fundraiser for the American Diabetes Association.  It took us about four hours to actually ride the 50 miles plus another hour or so for the rest stops.  Tim could have finished faster, but he let his old man hold him back.  Still, I’m happy to say that even though we got about a 30 minute late start, we still finished ahead of some younger riders.

Not finishing last may not seem like much of a goal, but for a first effort I’m not complaining.  Some folks, again some much younger than me, didn’t even finish.

The course is much hillier than I’m used to (Next year I’ll know better and train better.) and there was a serious head-wind for the last twenty miles or so.  The ride was one of the more difficult physical challenges I’ve ever tackled.  At the end, I was beat but glad I’d made the effort.

Here’s the part where I’ll try to turn this into an inspirational post. I know that a lot of people didn’t think I would make it.  I had a few doubts myself.  But you’re never going to expand your horizons if you don’t try some new things.  Whether you want to grow your business, improve your health, or take on a new hobby, your success depends on your determination.

The fact that you’re in business tells me that you’re not afraid of a challenge.  Every day brings something new to tackle.  Your success, or lack thereof, depends on just one thing.  And that’s you.  If a 60 year old guy with diabetes can ride 50 miles in less time than some folks half my age, anything’s possible. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

If you’re interested, there are some additonal pictures on my Facebook page.

2 Responses

  1. Congrats! Old guys rock! Seriously, nice job on the ride and helping to fund a cure.

  2. Doug,

    It’s great to hear from you.

    It doesn’t happen often, but once in a while it’s nice to be able to say “In your face, kid”. Seriously, I admire anyone who puts forth the effort to do something out of the ordinary.

    There was a guy at the ride wearing a diabetic jersey who must have weighed 300 pounds. He was riding a fat-tired bike with a basket on the front. I thought there was no way this guy was going to go five miles. But every time we stopped at a rest stop, there he was. And I thought, good for him! He finished behind me, but he did finish.

    Nothing’s impossible with the right attitude and a bunch of persistence.

Leave a Reply

