Help Fight a Killer!

tour_spoMore observant readers may notice that a new tab has been added at the top of the page.  It’s a page called “Help Fight Diabetes!”.  To make a long story short (and you can read the longer story by clicking the tab) my son and I will be riding in the Tour de Cure, a bike ride to raise money for the American Diabetes Association.

Here’s the thing.  Even though I have type 2 diabetes myself, my real reason for riding is to help raise money to keep other people from getting the disease and to help find a cure for those who already have it, especially the kids.  Most of us associate diabetes with eating too many sweets and with being overweight.  And that’s true.  But it can strike at any age, even in young children.  The idea of my grandkids or yours having to stick themselves two or three times a day to check their blood sugar and possibly taking insulin shots for the rest of their lives  scares the hell out of me.

So, here’s what I’m going to do.  First, I’m inviting you to participate by making a small donation.  Click on the page link above to do that (or click here).  Second, as a guy who promotes social media, I’m going to put the power of facebook, twitter, and other social media tools to work to ask for donations.  I have enough connections through these sites that I should be able to raise a nice amount of money.  Consider your donation as a gift to fight a deadly disease and a test of the power of the Internet.  I’d really appreciate it if you would encourage your friends to donate too.  Let’s show the world what a few committed geeks can do.

Third, and certainly not least, I want to encourage you to get yourself tested.  Nearly six million people have diabetes and don’t know it.  All it takes is a simple blood test to find out if you have the disease, or if you are in danger of getting it.  Do yourself and your family a huge favor by getting the test.  While it’s not curable (yet), diabetes is certainly controllable.  But you can’t control it if you don’t know you have it.

Thank you in advance for your help!

tour_sponsor_button1

4 Responses

  1. Way to go! I just rode in Tour de Cure San Diego a week ago! Good luck on your journey!

  2. […] Read the original:  Help Fight a Killer! […]

  3. […] See original here:  Help Fight a Killer! […]

Leave a Reply

