They’re Talking About You

Friday I wrote a post, Word of Mouth, where I praised Holiday World Amusement Park, Santa Claus, IN, for great customer service.  Rather than use high-margin soft drinks as a profit center, they use them as a perk for their customers.  Soft drinks and other beverages are free, both at the amusement park, and at the adjacent water park.

Just a couple of hours after I posted the article, I received a comment from Paula Werne from Holiday World’s PR department thanking me for the “love” and pointing out the parks also offer free sunscreen, free parking, free innertubes at the water park, and free ponchos when it rains.

Obviously Holiday World isn’t leaving their on-line reputation to chance and you shouldn’t either.  Using free tools like “Google Alerts” you can become instantly aware when someone mentions you, your business, or any other topic of interest on the web.

By following her business’ name Paula was able to build on my positive comments by adding facts that I didn’t know.  Even more important, if my comments had been unfavorable, she could have joined the conversation, turning a negative into a potential positive.

People are talking about you on the Internet whether you know it or not.  Shouldn’t you be part of the conversation?

One Response

  1. […] Mike wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptFriday I wrote a post, Word of Mouth, where I praised Holiday World Amusement Park, Santa Claus, IN, for great customer service. Rather than use high-margin soft drinks as a profit center, they use them as a perk for their customers. Soft drinks and other beverages are free, both at the amusement park, and at the adjacent water park. Just a couple of hours after I posted the article, I received a comment from … Blog at WordPress.com. Theme: Digg 3 Column by WP Designer. […]

Leave a Reply

