New Look

You may have noticed that I’ve been playing around with the look of Mining the Store over the last few days.  Why?  Two reasons.  First, I’m working on a new web site and I want the theme of the blog to be similar.  Second, I’m striving for simplicity (not to be confused with the vacuum cleaners manufactured by my former employer).

In these difficult economic times, I believe the solution to many of our problems lies in trimming things down, eliminating the unnecessary, and emphasising efficiency.  I like the picture of the mine (I took it myself) and the rather garish header that we’ve used until now.  But I had to ask myself if they contributed anything that benefits YOU, the reader.  I decided the answer is “No!”  So, they’re gone.

As we move forward all of us are going to have to make some tough decisions.  The decisions may be tough but the ramifications can be exciting.  In the last post we saw how one company was able to renegotiate with a vendor to save four employee jobs.  That’s the kind of creative solutions we should all be looking for.

More on that later, but for now I hope you like the new look.  Keep watching for the announcement of the new web site very soon.

Leave a Reply

