Making the Change

I had no idea that the conversion from “employee” to “solo practitioner” would be so complicated. It shouldn’t be. After all, I’ve been doing both for a few months, so it would seem like just dropping one role would be a piece of cake. But there a lot of little details that just eat up a lot of time.

For example, I’ve been working out of the room I set up as an office for several months. But now that it’s my permanent and only work space, I find myself being more particular about how things are arranged. There are shelves to hang, boxes of books to unpack, and computer files to transfer.

I arranged to have emails forwarded from my former company so that I can get subscriptions switched over to my new address, but I had no idea there were so many. And for those of you who author newsletters and such, why are some subscriptions so difficult to switch? Surely a reader changing an email address isn’t that uncommon. Do I really have to unsubscribe and then resubscribe? (Hint: Some folks may decide that it’s not worth the trouble. I’m just saying.)

So I hope you’ll bear with me for a few days as everything gets set up. The target date for a total changeover is still January 1. Meanwhile, excuse me while I run over to the office supply store……again.

Leave a Reply

