Will It Mulch?

The following is brought to you as a public service by MTS:

By now you’ve most likely seen, or at least heard of, BlendTec’s amazingly viral video series called “Will It Blend?”  The star of the show is the BlendTec blender which gobbles up two-by-fours and golf balls and other seemingly unblendable stuff.  The videos are wildly popular and BlendTec has seen their sales increase exponentially because of them.

Well, not to be outdone, I may have discovered the next series of videos which I plan to call “Will It Mulch?”  Much like the idea for “Will It Blend”, my idea not something that I planned.  Yesterday I was cutting my mother-in-law’s very large back yard with her very old riding mower.  Flying along at breakneck speed (the leaves were falling faster than I could get to them) I was enjoying my favorite podcast (Click the link to see what it is.) when the voices suddenly went still and I heard what can only be described as a sickening sound.

My worst fears were realized when I looked down to see the plug from my earbuds dangling naked from its white cord.  Like Ralphie’s Christmas turkey, my iPod was “gone, all gone.”  As you can see from the photo, the same mower that needed two passes to grind up a leaf had anhialated my iPod in a single pass.

Unfortunately, no one was there with video camera to record the tragedy and I haven’t the desire or the cash to repeat it, so maybe my video series won’t come to be.  But keep this in mind.  The riding mower may not be able to make a decent Margarita, but when it comes to destroying electronic equipment, it takes a back seat to no one.  So if you must listen to podcasts while you mow, be sure your mp3 player is firmly attached to something.

R.I.P. iPod Nano

R.I.P. iPod Nano

4 Responses

  1. Wow Mike! It seems like there should be more parts inside a iPod! Are you sure some of them were not fully mulched! I think this could be a fun if not dangerous (and expensive) series of videos!

  2. Bummer! But being a guy, I sure wish I could have seen it happen. I used to pitch tomatoes and apples at an overturned lawnmower. It was fun watching them explode into nothing when they hit the whirling blade. I don’t know why I get a thrill from watching destruction–but I do.

  3. Trying to turn lemons into lemonade, I’m lobbying my wife to let me buy an iPhone, but that $100.00 per month service charge is a real deal breaker.

Leave a Reply

