Twitter: Be Careful Who You Follow

Last night I was watching John McCain’s speech on television while I tried to catch up on some work.  TweetDeck was running in the background.  The Twitterverse was alive with comments about the speech.  Let me be clear that I don’t follow anyone for political reasons.  Most of the people I follow are social media and business types and to be brutally honest, I really don’t care all that much about their political opinions.  I find politics are best left out of business discussions.  Frankly I was surprised by the volume of comments.

But I do care about people’s judgement.  If I’m going to follow someone, I rely on them to provide good, thoughtful comment, no matter what the subject.  I couldn’t care less who you plan to vote for, but your reasoning and your comments speak volumes.  If you plan to vote for Barak Obama because you feel he’s the best man for the job, good for you.  If you plan to vote for John McCain because of his record in the Senate, or because he’s a war hero, that’s good too.

But if you’re going to waste my online time by tweeting about the color of the candidate’s tie, I’m sorry but I’ve got better things to do.  If you plan to vote for either candidate because you don’t like the oponent’s skin color, or gender, or religion, you’re credibility with me is seriously damaged.  If you’re forwarding something on Twitter that’s obviously not true, count me out.

It was while I was reading some major nonsense that it occurred to me that it’s not the number of people you follow that’s important, it’s the quality of the content.  I’ll be darned, it’s just like the real world.  I’ve begun to cull my list of followees based mostly on some really stupid political comments.  There will be more.

My time (and yours) is too valuable to waste it on shallow comments from shallow people.

Leave a Reply

