No Way to Treat a Friend

Seth Godin wrote the other day about an experience he had in a restaurant.  The maitre d, after looking up Seth’s name in his magic reservation book said "’over there against the wall,’ while he pointed.”

Now, I’m just guessing, but given Seth’s success as a speaker and author, and the fact that he was greeted by a “maitre d” this probably wasn’t a place with “bar and grill” in its name.  Not that that makes a difference.  Some of the best service I’ve ever had has been in places where you were lucky to get a paper napkin, let alone a cloth one.  Good service doesn’t have to equal high price. 

Don’t you consider someone who comes into your place of business a friend?  Doesn’t that person deserve the same consideration you would give someone who came to your house for dinner?  I can’t imagine telling a friend “over there against the wall”. 

As far as I know, no one is trying to steal my friends.  But I do know that someone is trying to steal your customers.  Don’t make it easy for them by not treating everyone who comes into your store as a friend. 

Seth’s post is called “Two Seconds” because that’s the amount of extra time it would have taken the maitre d to be courteous.  I’d say that even if it takes ten seconds, or thirty, or even an extra minute or two, it’s time well spent.

2 Responses

  1. Well said!

    thanks for reading.

  2. I’m surprised Seth left it at that. I’d have been inclined to say “No, I’m not here with the Summary Execution party. I’m a customer. Talk to me politely.”

Leave a Reply

